Editorial Board

Chief Editor (2019)

Dr. Joshua Ariga - Senior Program Officer, Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation (BMGF)

Dr. Joshua Ariga is a Senior Program Officer with the Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation (BMGF). Joshua has more than 18 years of experience on agricultural markets and policy research. Before joining the Foundation, he held the positions of Acting Program Leader and Senior Economist for the Markets, Economics and Policy Unit of the International Fertilizer Development Center (IFDC) based in Alabama but with offices in several countries in SSA and Asia. He has provided leadership for research on agricultural policy, institutional reforms, coordination and implementation of market studies and subsidy assessments in SSA and Asia. Joshua has done consultancy work for the World Bank, IFPRI, FAO and worked as Research Specialist with the Food Security Group (Michigan State University) and Research Fellow at Tegemeo Institute of Agricultural Policy and Development on improving agricultural productivity, policy reforms, and advocacy. He has extensive experience advising policy makers, building partnerships, training and capacity building for public and private sector actors, and organizing and managing workshops. He has authored and co-authored several publications and chapters in books covering a range of agricultural issues. In 2017 he received the Bruce Gardner Memorial Prize for applied policy analysis in recognition of outstanding impact on agricultural and related policy. Joshua has a PhD in agricultural economics from Michigan State University and Masters degree from the University of Arizona and Bachelors degree from Egerton University in Kenya.


Co-Editor (2019)

Dr. Suresh Babu - Senior Research Fellow and Head of Capacity Strengthening Program, IFPRI

Dr. Suresh Babu was educated at Iowa State University, Ames, Iowa (M.S. Economics and PhD Economics). He is currently a Senior Research Fellow and Head of Capacity Strengthening Program at the International Food Policy Research Institute (IFPRI), Washington, D.C. Before joining IFPRI as a Research Fellow, Dr. Babu was a Research Economist at Cornell University, Ithaca, New York. He began his development and policy research career in Malawi as a Food Policy Advisor to the Government of Malawi and as a Senior Lecturer of Agricultural Economics in Bunda College, Lilongwe University of Agriculture and Natural Resources.

Dr. Babu has published more than 85 peer reviewed journal articles and authored or edited 20 books and research monographs. He was a coordinating author of the Millennium Ecosystems Assessment. He has been recognized as an Adjunct Professor of Rural Development in American University, Washington D.C., an Honorary Visiting Professor at the Indira Gandhi National Open University of India, a Guest Professor at the China Center for Rural Development, Zhizhang University, China, and an Honorary Professor of University of KwaZulu-Natal University and an Extraordinary Professor of Agricultural Economics in University of Pretoria both in South Africa. He is currently on editorial board of four peer-reviewed journals. He serves on several international advisory committees including, the Advisory Board of the World Agricultural Forum. His latest coauthored books include: Competitiveness of Global Agriculture: Policy Lessons for Food Security (2016-Springer) and Nutrition Economics: Principles and Policy Applications (2017-Elsevier / Academic Press). https://www.ifpri.org/profile/suresh-babu

Editorial Board

Name Term of office Institution/Organisation
Abdoul G. Sam 31/12/2020 Ohio State University, USA
Frank Agbola 31/12/2020 University of Newcastle, Australia
Jock Anderson 31/12/2022 World Bank (retired), Australia
Christopher Barrett 31/12/2022 Cornell University, USA
Stephan von Cramon-Taubadel 31/12/2022 Georg-August-Universität, Germany
Marijke d’Haese 31/12/2020 Ghent University, Belgium
Rashid Hassan 31/12/2022 University of Pretoria, South Africa
Mary Mathenge 31/12/2020 Tegemeo Institute of Agricultural Policy and Development, Kenya
Steven Were Omamo 31/12/2022 World Food Program, Italy